## WINNEFOX LIBRARY SYSTEM BOARD SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

May 3, 2023

The Winnefox Library System Board of Trustees Special Meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 5, 2023 by President Katherine Freund. Trustees present were Bill Bracken, Noah Cypher, Randy Fieldhack, Katherine Freund, Elizabeth Irish, Kathleen McGwin, Jim Miller, Patty Pieper, Andrew Prellwitz, David Rucker, Michael Will and Doug Zellmer. Trustees absent were Ken Bates, Jon Jarvis, Melissa Kolstad, and Dusty Krikau. Also present were Jeff Gilderson-Duwe, Director; Clairellyn Sommersmith, Assistant Director; Julie Schmude, Business Manager; Marcy Cannon, Administrative Specialist II; Pete Hodge, Network Manager/PC Support Specialist; Anna Ludwig, Carter Memorial Public Library Director and Chanda Anderson.

## **Public Comments**

Pete Hodge, Marcy Cannon and Julie Schmude gave public comments.

Jeff Gilderson-Duwe gave the Report of the Director.

Motion made at 4:42 p.m. to enter Closed Session, pursuant to Section 19.85(1)(c) of the Wisconsin State Statutes to discuss matters pertaining to the employment, performance, promotion, or compensation of staff. **Motion:** Fieldhack; **Second:** Miller; **Vote:** Unanimous.

Motion made at 5:20 p.m. to enter Open Session. Motion: Miller; Second: Zellmer; Vote: Unanimous.

Motion to appoint an ad hoc Director Recruitment Committee of the Winnefox Board to conduct a search for the next Director. **Motion:** Bracken; **Second:** Rucker; **Vote:** Motion failed. **Aye:** Bracken, Rucker. **Nay:** Cypher, Fieldhack, Freund, Irish, McGwin, Miller, Pieper, Prellwitz, Will, Zellmer.

Motion to appoint Clairellyn Sommersmith to the permanent position of Winnefox Director. **Motion:** Miller; **Second:** Zellmer; **Vote:** Unanimous.

Motion to adjourn at 5:28 pm. Motion: Will; Second: Prellwitz; Vote: Unanimous.

Respectfully submitted,

Melissa Kolstad, Secretary Julie Schmude, Recorder mc